I saw this treading on FB. This actually happened in WSOP 2012 Main Event and was reported during live updates by pokernews! How do you feel about the ruling that was made?
Titled: Andras Koroknai Moves All In, Then Mucks, does not lose his tournament life
Gaelle Baumann opened for a min-raise to 60,000 from under the gun, and the action folded to Andras Koroknai, who moved all in for what looked like 2 million from the small blind. Gavin Smith folded from the big blind, and thinking that the action was completed, Koroknai mucked his hand.
When he realized his mistake, he pulled back one of his cards, but the other was irretrievable. A floorperson was called to the table, and the dealer explained what had happened. Tournament Director Dennis Jones was called over to make the ruling, and upon hearing the story, he stood silently for half a minute.
Smith, who was standing next to him, began laughing at the difficulty of the decision.
After a moment for thought, Jones informed the table that Koroknai would have to forfeit 60,000 chips to Baumann, but that he wouldn't be eliminated completely. "Really?" Smith blurted.
Baumann was also confused with the ruling, so Jones pulled out his iPhone and called Vice President of the World Series of Poker Jack Effel. After a two-minute conversation, Jones hung up, and announced to the table that the original ruling would stand.
"You're not losing your tournament life," Jones told Koroknai.
In Jones' explanation to the table, he cited the "integrity of the tournament" as the major factor in the decision.
According to Smith, Baumann showed two kings.